top of page

About The 5th District Democrats


North Carolina's 5th congressional district covers the northwestern corner of North Carolina from the Appalachian Mountains at the Virginia border down to the SC border. Redistricting has changed its makeup over the years. In recent history, it included Forsyth County, but now it reaches down to Gaston County. A special Redistricting of North Carolina’s US congressional districts were ordered by federal courts in February 2016. Afterward, this map was approved by the North Carolina State Legislature on February 19th, 2016, becoming Session Law 2016-1. Most recently - on December 2nd, 2019 - after several court battles, a map was accepted and the 5th District changed again for the 2020 election cycle. Currently, the counties in the 5th district are • Alexander • Alleghany • Ashe • Burke • Caldwell • Catawba (tiny bit) • Cleveland • Gaston • Rutherford (partial) • Watauga • Wilkes •


On Monday, December 2nd, 2019, the three-judge panel overseeing our Congressional District challenge decided that the North Carolina General Assembly had not provided the court enough time to fully consider the evidence surrounding the latest challenge to the recently enacted Congressional District boundaries. (Once again, the Republican majority ran out the clock, a frequent tactic of the GOP in redistricting battles.)

Accordingly, the Congressional District maps (as revised most recently by the General Assembly) will remain in place for the 2020 elections. That map changed every Congressional District in some way – a fact that not only impacts candidates and voters, but also impacts our NCDP organizational structure, DNC delegate elections, and presidential elector elections.

Consequently, our State Party officers held a conference call on that Monday night and unanimously decided that to move forward with a plan that transitions our NCDP structure to the new district boundaries effective on and after January 1, 2020.


Under this plan the thirteen Congressional District Executive Committees (as composed of previously elected congressional district officers remaining in the new district; county chairs and vice-chairs residing in the new district; and other ex-officios in the new district) shall meet on either Saturday, January 18 or Saturday, January 25 to re-organize to fill officer vacancies and conduct other business. I repeat: Those are executive committee meetings only and are not conventions; district conventions are several months later.

Please note that this transition plan is the unanimous recommendation of your NCDP State Officers. We will present this plan and related details to the NCDP State Executive Council meeting on December 19th for consideration, ratification, and final approval. You will be updated further after that meeting.



The 5th district has only become "red" in the past 20 years during the Art Pope push of the 90s. Previously, Stephen Lybrook Neal, a Winston-Salem Democrat led the 5th district for 20 years.  A member of "The Class of '74," as the Congressmen of his class was called, they were reform-minded lawmakers that swept into the House of Representatives in the aftermath of the Watergate scandal. Today they are still regarded with reverence by many on Capitol Hill for pushing the rules and modernizing the House. 

William W. Kitchin             Democratic        March 4, 1897 – January 11, 1909  (Resigned after being elected Governor)

John M. Morehead               Republican       March 4, 1909 – March 3, 1911

Charles M. Stedman           Democratic       March 4, 1911 – September 23, 1930       (Died in office)

Franklin W. Hancock, Jr.   Democratic       November 4, 1930 – January 3, 1939

 Alonzo D. Folger                Democratic        January 3, 1939 – April 30, 1941              (Died in office)

 John H. Folger                    Democratic        June 14, 1941 – January 3, 1949

 Richard T. Chatham          Democratic        January 3, 1949 – January 3, 1957

 Ralph J. Scott                      Democratic        January 3, 1957 – January 3, 1967

 Nick Galifianakis               Democratic        January 3, 1967 – January 3, 1969           (Redistricted to the 4th district)

 Vinegar Bend Mizell           Republican       January 3, 1969 – January 3, 1975

 Stephen L. Neal                  Democratic         January 3, 1975 – January 3, 1995

 Richard Burr                       Republican         January 3, 1995 – January 3, 2005

 Virginia Foxx                      Republican          January 3, 2005 – Present


Alleghany • Ashe • Avery • Caldwell • Davie • Forsyth •  Mitchell • Stokes • Surry • Watauga • Wilkes • Yadkin

bottom of page